Poetry Winners!

Congratulations to Evia L. (1st place), Janae P. (2nd place), Natalie D. and Hakim R. (3rd place tie) for winning the April National Poetry Month contest! They were each given a Coles Book Store gift card as a prize. Great job, students! I am so proud of their creativity and bravery to submit and perform these poems for the school on video. Please read their poems and enjoy!

My Everyday Race by Evia L.

With my head hung  low

Oceans pour out

Anger envelops,

A strong wave of doubt.

~

I pray to the Lord,

I don’t hear a reply.

All hope seems lost

But no tears left to cry.

~

My heart cold and empty,

A weighted mass of lead.

I could’ve done something

But coward instead.

~

I started the race

But fell on my knees.

Surpasses by all others,

All hope was deceased.

~

No hope to continue

So I didn’t even try.

Walked home discouraged,

Endlessly asking “why?”.

~

“Continue forward…”

A faint voice whispers.

I fight to ignore;

Its hushed tone empowers.

~

I fold my hands,

And kneel in prayer.

That lump in my throat

No longer there.
~

I awake the next day,

Determined to run.

No matter the outcome,

Won’t stop until I’m done.

~

With God by my side

I start running with grace.

All the weight now gone,

My fate I embrace.

~

I encounter a bump

And collapse to the ground

My knees are all scraped,

My eyes look around.

~

Everyone passes,

And I’m in last place

I wobble to my feet

And continue the race.

~

I finish in last

But victory was mine.

I conquered my fears,

Which is truly divine.

 

Resilience by Janae P.

Fight through the hard, difficult and pain

See to the end, the wisdom, the gain.

Know the fight is not yours alone.

See the commitment God has shown.

Open your eyes to what He has done.

He has sacrificed his only son!

So, when trouble comes unexpectedly,

Remember you are free!

Rise from your trouble

Above the rubble

And know you are protected,

Not neglected.

See how you are loved.

 

Resilience #2 by Natalie D.

An ocean of sadness and trials flood my boat,

I long for the end when I reach the shore.

I pump out the water that makes my heart fill with sorrow,

In the distance I see the shore.

There is no way I will make it.

Suddenly, I feel the waters calm.

I move toward the shore,

And find my refuge.

My God, my comfort.

He holds me in His arms and my fears melt away.

I have made it through the past,

And I have more to overcome in the future.

But this time,

I know I can make it to the horizon ahead.

Only because of God.

 

I Am Hakim by: Hakim R.

Ready? I ask myself.

I wonder when the night will end, but I still try.

I hear nothing but silence.

I see a light, a hope.

I want to reach it; I have to reach it.

Ready, I ask again?

~

I pretend I can feel it.

I feel the weight of the world

I wish for the hope

I worry I won’t make it

I try as hard as possible.

~

I know victory seems out of reach.

But you must believe it’s there.

I dream about that hope.

I try to reach it every day.

And then I touch it, hope.

Let’s finish covid!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *